Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Advisory Committee

The current Principals' and Deputy Principals' committee consists of the following members.

  • Brendan Forde (Chairperson)
  • Maureen Byrne McKeon
  • John Cleary
  • John O'Donovan
  • Breda Lyons
  • Katherine Bulman
  • Michael Loughnane
  • Adrian J Oughton
  • Eileen Mullaney
  • Ciaran McCormack
  • Patricia McDonagh
  • Marian Healy
  • Joe Moran(President)
  • Jack Keane (Vice President)
  • John White (General Secretary)


The membership, functions and duties of the Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ Advisory Committee are as follows:


(i)The ordinary members of the Committee shall be members who are Principals’ and Deputy Principals’ of secondary schools, comprehensive schools, community schools or community colleges.  In each region a Principal and Deputy Principal is elected for a two year period.  The Principal and Deputy Principal should not be from the same school.   

(ii) They shall be elected to represent Principals and Deputy Principals on a regional basis as follows:

Standing Committee Regions 1 and 2
(Donegal, Iar Thuaisceart, Sligo, West Mayo, East Mayo, Carrick-on-Shannon)

Standing Committee Regions 3 and 4
(Galway, Tuam, East Galway, Clare, Limerick South, Limerick North, Nenagh)

Standing Committee Region 5
(Desmond, Kerry, West Limerick)

Standing Committee Regions 6 and 7
(Cork South, Carbery, Fermoy, Cork North, East Cork, West Waterford, Dungarvan)

Standing Committee Regions 8 and 9
(Wexford, New Ross, Enniscorthy, Waterford, Tipperary, Kilkenny, Roscrea)

Standing Committee Regions 10 and 11
(Laois, Kildare, Carlow, Longford, Tullamore, Navan, Athlone, Mullingar)

Standing Committee Regions 12, 16 and 17
(Dundalk, Monaghan, Cavan, Drogheda, Dublin North 1, Dublin North Central, Dublin North East, Fingal)

Standing Committee Regions 13 and 14
(Dublin South 2, Dublin South County, Stillorgan, Wicklow, Dun Laoghaire, Bray)

Standing Committee Regions 15 and 18
(Dublin South West, Dublin North West, Dublin South Central, Dublin South 1)

(iii) Members will be elected at the regional meetings of Principals and Deputy Principals who are ASTI members.  The electorate for each representative will be Principals and Deputy Principals from that particular area only.

(iv) One Principal and one Deputy Principal will be elected for each region.  Regard will be had to gender equity. 

(v) The term of office is two years.

(iv) The President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Deputy General Secretary will be ex-officio members of the committee. 



The functions of the committee are:

(i) to advise Standing Committee about relevant educational or trade union matters affecting the interests of Principal and Deputy Principals;

(iii) to prepare such reports or supporting documentation necessary to assist Standing Committee with the processing of claims on behalf of Principals and Deputy Principals;

(iii) to advise Standing Committee about the role of Principals and Deputy Principals in relation to the implementation of specific aspects of ASTI policy;

(iv) to advise Standing Committee about the contents of an occasional bulletin to Principals and Deputy Principals informing them about ASTI policy issues.